Saebom don katsu

I’d been craving don katsu for quite awhile. I’d tried to satisfy the craving by ordering it at a few different restaurants, but I found most places to be disappointing; not at all what I was looking for. So I figured I had to make it myself. Plus, my good friend had sent me 4 different curries from Korea last month and I still hadn’t cooked them. (I hadn’t really cooked anything in about 6 months.)

If you want something done right you have to do it yourself, right? (That’s what I’ve found with Korean food too. Stop complaining about how we don’t have good Korean food here and just make it yourself. If you want to eat it more frequently then just make it.) I am no cook, but today I tried and it turned out surprisingly well!

It took me about 1 hour.

I used this curry, one of the 4 that my friend sent me. 

I used these sort of pork cutlets and hammered them flat so they expand.

Then I dipped the flattened cutlet in first flour and then egg. My friend had said to coat the cutlet in a thicker layer of egg than flour.

Then I fried the cutlet in oil. Not peanut oil, just regular olive or vegetable oil. I know, I forgot the breadcrumbs. That would have gone next. We didn’t have any and it slipped my mind I needed them to make this dish.

After the pork was done then I cooked the veggies. I like potatoes, carrots, and onions. Yum.

Then I added the curry powder and some water. The thing about getting ingredients from Korea is that all the directions are in Korean. So I had to guess the preparations. It still turned out pretty tasty though.

And the final product!

Here are the other sauces I will be able to make some time soon; the other ones my friend sent me from Korea. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

