Dol update

We’re a little over a month away from my little one’s dol and here’s what’s been done and what needs to be done.

Photographer – Got one! Not sure why I hadn’t thought of this before, but we hired a friend of mine who also happens to be a KAD and also happened to have photographed my older son when he was three months and six months old. Of all the planning photographer and location were the most difficult things to figure out.

Restaurant/location – Around the end of December/beginning of January we went to the restaurant, met with the owner, and nailed down a menu. Oh and put down a deposit. That made me feel a lot better about the whole party. I need to know things are secure, so before we went there, in my mind, there was always the chance it wasn’t quite happening.

Favors – A friend got them for me in Korea. How sweet. I’d planned to reimburse her for them but she said to think of them as a gift for the party. I can add photos later. Things in Korea are so much cheaper. I highly recommend getting stuff there if you can.

돌잡이 – “Doljabi” or the items the little one will be choosing from that determine his future path in life. The same friend who got me the favors also got me doljabi items in Korea. I’ll have to post photos of them later. They’re more traditional than what I’m used to.

Left to do:

Cake – In the process of ordering. It’s hard though–I need to know how many people are going to order the cake.

Doljabi game – Still not sure if I am going to do one of these. Examples:
Doljabi game and candy arrangements I like
Framed doljabi game

Dol goim, or dol towers! – Making them this weekend. Very excited. Here are some of my inspirations:
3 towers: name, animal and v design
dol towers I like, also how-to with paper towels
3 cool towers–1 animals!, love the little bits of rice they used for the inside rectangles
colorful table and cool cow tower
cool panda tower, and love the yellow, grey and purple tower
like these towers too–also doljabi game

very very elaborate table, never seen 6 towers before, normally it’s an odd # of towers

Leave a Reply

